Friday, August 13, 2010

Knowing Your Human Rights

We had a great workshop this morning with a lady from the Human Rights Commission.  The main area of discussion focused on discrimination, bullying in the workplace and the ways both positive and negative through which people treat each other.

There are 13 grounds/areas that people cannot be discriminated on according to New Zealand law.  They are-
  • Age (from age 16 years)
  • Colour
  • Disability
  • Employment Status
  • Ethical Belief (lack of religious belief)
  • Ethnic or National Origins (includes nationality and citizenship)
  • Family Status
  • Marital Status
  • Political Opinion (including having no political opinion)
  • Race & Racial Harassment
  • Religious Belief
  • Sex & Sexual Harassment
  • Sexual Orientation (heterosexual, homosexual, lesbian, bisexual)  Source: Human Rights Commission.
The reason I am posting this today is because it is easy for people to be unaware or even become blase about what is and what isn't covered in both domestic and international law.  Have another look over the list above and consider - have you discriminated or been voical to another person due to any of those areas?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails